MMPA Leaders Elected

NOVI, Mich.—Delegates attending the 100th annual meeting of the Michigan Milk Producers Association (MMPA) on March 24 reelected Ken Nobis, of St. Johns, to an at-large, three-year term on the board of directors. Delegates also elected Gertie van den Goor of Marlette, Michigan to her first three-year term in an at-large position.

During the board’s reorganizational meeting, held after the delegate meeting, the following officers were elected: President: Ken Nobis, St. Johns; Vice President: Mark Halbert, Battle Creek; Treasurer: Eric Frahm, Frankenmuth.

Board members elected at the district level were: Doug Chapin of Remus, District 5 and Scott Lamb of Jeddo, District 8.

Delegates also elected representatives to the MMPA Advisory Committee. Members of this committee serve as a liaison between the membership and the board of directors and management.

Advisory Committee members elected this year to a two-year term are:

District 1: Bruce Lewis, Jonesville; Jeff Horning, Manchester
District 2: Michael Oesch, Middlebury, IN; Mark Crandall, Battle Creek
District 3: Tim Butler, Sand Lake; Bill Gruppen, Zeeland
District 4: Marvin Rubingh, Ellsworth; Jeremy Werth, Herron
District 5: Mike Rasmussen, Edmore; Lyle Vanderwal, Lake City
District 6: David Reed, Owosso; Jamie Meyer, Ionia
District 7: Mark Iciek, Gladwin; John Bennett, Prescott
District 8: Darwin Sneller, Sebewaing; Bill Blumerich, Berlin

MMPA—established in 1916—is a member owned and operated dairy cooperative serving approximately 2,000 dairy farmers in Michigan, Indiana, Ohio and Wisconsin.